Celebrating 25 years of gathering and sharing the poetry of the world

POETRY INTERNATIONAL is one of the oldest and most respected literary journals dedicated to publishing poetry from around the globe. Each issue of the print journal brings together poems, portfolios, and prose representing a rich diversity of countries and languages.

Each issue includes translations from around the world. Our featured translation sections have brought attention to underrepresented poets from Cuba, Vietnam, Iraq, Sweden, and a host of other countries. Special chapbooks and symposiums, such as Symposium on Translation, on Borders, on Disappearing Languages, are also included.

Poets who have appeared in our pages include Seamus Heaney, Carolyn Forche, Yusef Komunyakaa, Derek Walcott, Tomas Tranströmer, Adrienne Rich, John Ashbery, Wanda Coleman, Edward Hirsch, Robert Bly, Adam Zagajewski, Rae Armantrout, as well as Fady Joudah, Valzhyna Mort, Ishion Hutchinson, Jericho Brown, Kim Addonizio, Kwame Dawes, Gerald Stern, Chris Abani, Katie Ford, Malena Morling, Nicole Sealey, and among many, many other.

We are excited to introduce you to PIOnline where you can stay in touch with global conversations about books, poetry, and poetics and explore our archive of international poets and poems. We encourage you to sign up to receive updates as we publish new content, expand our online archive, and announce new opportunities to submit to Poetry International.

Contact us at poetryintl@gmail.com

Please note: We do not accept email submissions. For information on submissions, please see the link in the top menu.



Editor -in-Chief: Sandra Alcosser

Managing Editor: Paula Stacey

Editor Emeritus: Ilya Kaminsky

Founding Editor: Fred Moramarco

Contributing Editors: Katie FarrisJenny Minniti-Shippey

Online Editors:  Anna Alarcon, Grace Li

Submissions Editors: Brent Ameneyro, Nabeal Twereet

Production Editors: Anna Alarcon, McKenna Themm

Social Media Editor: Dulce Arteaga



Tiara Barnette, Mia Beloney, Jade Carpenter, Kaylianne Chaffee, Alana Contreras Rodriguez, Jazmine Cope, Clarissa Corea, Maya Dixon, Cynthia Flores, Fabrizio Lacarra Ramirez, Riley Martinez, Tamiel Lacarra Ramirez,Kassandra Tejeda, Katelyn Wallace

International Advisory Board

Christopher Buckley, Jericho Brown, Lucille Clifton (1936-2010), Michael Collier, Kwame Dawes, Rita DoveCarolyn ForchéMarilyn HackerEdward Hirsch, Ishion Hutchinson, Robert Kelly, Major Jackson,  James LongenbachChristopher Merrill, Valzhyna Mort, David Mura, Adrienne Rich (1929-2012), Jerome Rothenberg, Tomaz Šalamun (1941-2014), Gerald Stern, Mark Strand(1934-2014)Gary Soto, Arthur Sze, James Tate (1943-2015), Natasha Trethewey, C.K.Williams (1936-2015), Eleanor Wilner, Adam Zagajewski (1945-2021).